How to Eraser All Content and Settings on an iPhone

Posted by on .
(0 comments)
follow

It has been a routine that new iPhone models come out every year with more advanced hardware specs. If you were an iPhone user then you must how intimidating it gets when the new iPhone is released. Although, it perfectly fine to buy a new iPhone when it is public available. In such a case, you may want to sell or give away the old iPhone for some extra money.

However, it is not that easy as you think. You need to make sure removing everything from the iPhone before you hand it over to the new owner. Millions of people have been victims to identity theft just because they didn't erase the content from their iPhone. It's a common sense that you will have tons of pictures, messages, music, videos and other private data stored on your iPhone. So, you don't want to give those information to any stranger who can possibly misuse them. Your privacy and security should be always on top priorities. In this tutorial, we will be sharing few methods and show you how to delete all contents and settings on your iPhone..

 

Note: Before you proceed with the methods, we must warn you that using these methods will permanently delete everything from your iPhone. So, it is recommended to keep a full backup of your iPhone before proceeding so that you don't lose any important data.

 

Part 1: How to Erase All Content and Settings on iPhone via Factory Reset

Factory Reset is a simple ans easy way to remove personal data from iPhone. The iPhone will go back to the original state when it was shipped out. This way will wipe all data and settings from the iPhone. It will make it like a brand new phone. To perform factory reset on your iPhone, please follow the steps listed below..

 

Step 1: Go to 'Settings' by swiping down from the top of the iPhone.

 

Step 2 : Tap on 'General' followed by 'Erase all Contents and Settings'.

 

Step 3: Click on 'Erase iPhone' when prompted.

 

Step 4: Wait few minutes to finish the operation and it should be done.

 

erase content and settings iphone

 

Easy as that. But, this data erasing method doesn't permanently wipe all the data on iPhone. The deleted data is still stored in dummy memory, which can be easily restored by using any data recovery software. So, if you wish to completely delete those files then you will have to use some professional erasing tools. In the next method, we will be using Mobiledic iOS Data Eraser to erase all contents and settings on iPhone. Below is a screenhsot of data being recovery after factory reset.

 

preview the contacts from iPhone

 

Part 2: How to Erase All Content and Settings on iPhone via iOS Data Eraser

Mobiledic iOS Data Eraser is a well-known app to delete everything from your iPhone permanently and when it says permanently, it means the process is irreversible and those files can never be restored using any software. It works well on Mac and Windows platform to give you the best user experience. So, make sure to create full back up before performing this method as you will be fully responsible after any data loss occurs due to this.

Windows version
Mac version

Tutorial: How to Erase All Content and Settings on iPhone/iPad/iPod

Step 1 Download and Open Mobiledic iOS Data Eraser

Firstly, you will have go to the official website and download the trial version of OS Data Eraser. The software is supported by Windows and Mac, so make sure to download the correct version. After downloading, you should install the software on your system and launch the software for the first time. You will be able to see something like this if everything is done correctly so far.

 

Main panel of iOS safe wiper

 

Step 2 Attach Your iPhone/iPad/iPod to Computer

Now, you will have to connect iPhone to Computer using USB data cable. The software will automatically detect the iPhone and show it on the software. If you are doing this for the first time, then you may be prompted to ask to grant permission.

 

iPhone Data Wiper

 

Step 3 Start Erasing Data from iPhone/iPad/iPod

There are four data erasing methods offered by this program. In this time, please click on "Erase All Data" . Click "Erase" button and you will be asked to confirm the operation before proceeding to the next stage. Type 'delete' in that text field and, click "Erase Now" button to start the process. The software will automatically start erasing everything from your iPhone, which includes messages, pictures, browsing history, settings, contacts and all other private information.

 

confirm erasing

 

 

After the deletion process is completed, you will be able to see the following screen which means the operation has been completed successfully.

Conclusion:

Using the above methods, you should be able to delete everything from your iPhone permanently. You may feel free to sell or give it away to anyone you want after this without any worries of getting information stolen. You can use the same software to erase all contents and settings from iPad as well. If you run into any trouble then you can contact the support staff and they will be happy to assist you.

Windows version
Mac version

 

 

Iris Bella is the Founder and Editorial Director at Mobiledic Studio. You can also find her on social network.

Hot Product